My Dinner At Chez Panisse

Last night I had dinner at Chez Panisse, a restaurant consistently ranked as one of the best in the world. Located in Berkeley California, Chez Panisse opened in 1971, and since then has garnered a reputation for using the highest quality ingredients available.

The first course was the best salad I have ever eaten. It was baked andante dairy goat cheese with garden lettuces. This was served with wonderful bread and sparkling water– in a carafe!

IMG_3091IMG_3097

For the main course, I wanted to try something I’ve never had before. I consulted with the waiter and ended up getting this: buttermilk-fried rabbit with sweet corn, zucchini, and chile oil. It tasted like every flavor I’ve ever enjoyed in my entire life decided to throw a party in my mouth. It was absolutely delicious, and I was happy to have tried something totally new. With my meal, I had a glass of 2010 Montlouis, La Negrette, Le Rocher Des Violettes, France. (My waiter brought me a couple of wines he thought would go well with the rabbit, and this was my pick. But free samples!)

IMG_3094 IMG_3092

 

In case you were wondering, rabbit is pretty good. It does taste a bit like chicken. And now I have something in common with Katniss Everdeen! (I just read The Hunger Games trilogy.)

For dessert, I got the bittersweet chocolate pavé with caramel ice cream and chocolate sauce. While it was very, very good, pavé is pretty much fancy talk for brownie. I should have gone with something more exciting, like the “golden sweet apricot galette” or “boysenberry sherbert with wood leaf farm peaches.” Alas, there’s always next time.

IMG_3098 IMG_3095

The picture above to the right is another shot of the rabbit, but you can see a little bit of Chez Panisse!

All in all, this was an excellent meal, definitely one of the best I’ve ever had. Oh, and did I mention that Alice Waters, the legendary founder and owner of CP gave me a special number to call to get a table even though the restaurant is booked for months? That’s a story for another time. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

