Gotta Catch ‘Em All!

Exactly one year ago today, I abandoned this very blog post. I’ll get to why in a moment. First, the remains of said post dated 3/13/13:

One of my life long goals has been to catch all 150 original Pokemon. Last week, I set out to accomplish that feat. As of today, here’s what I have:

1-2. Charmander (evolved to Charmeleon)
3-5. Caterpie (evolved to Metapod evolved to Butterfree
6. Pidgey
7. Rattata
8. Spearow
9. Pikachu!!!!
10. Nidoran girl
11. Jigglypuff
12. Zubat
13. Geodude

More to come!!

Ha! One year ago today, I was working as both a substitute teacher and a barista in the small town that I grew up in. I was ten months out of college, floating through the dubious year of 22, which the poet Swift once described as being “happy, free, confused, and lonely at the same time.”

Because I had nothing better to do than daydream of moving to New York, I picked up my old transparent purple Game Boy Color and started to play Pokemon Yellow. I, like many people, have always dreamed of catching all 150 Pokemon. I envisioned defeating the Elite Four, capturing Mewtwo, and printing out an “I caught them all” certificate on a Game Boy Printer (which, of course, I’d have to buy on eBay.)

Alas, like many pipe dreams, my vision of Pokemon mastery was halted. My Yellow cartridge had a glitch in it that literally prevented me from moving out of a town. I was stuck and could go no further on my quest! Which is likely why this post stayed in my drafts folder, collecting dust for 365 days.

I realize now that this post is mostly parenthetical ramblings about failing to beat a video game from 1998. But, wait! There’s more! I think it’s a little serendipitous that I stumbled on this draft exactly a year after I started it. My life could not be more different 52 weeks removed from that day writing about Game Boy while subbing a French class in my old high school. Wow. Working in your old high school is a very strange experience. Like, one of the weirdest things you can do in your life. Revisiting the physical setting of your most formative and vulnerable years. Ha!

Sorry, I’m rambling again. I think I should probably go to bed. I need to be up early in the morning. Which (thankfully) brings me  back around to my entire point: how much can change in a year. 3/13/13: I was going to bed in a terrible metal IKEA bed that my feet hung off the end of, in my quiet hometown, having to get up early to be a substitute teacher in a brick building filled with demons and Axe Body Spray. 3/13/14: I’m going to bed in a real person bed that my feet don’t hang off the end of, in New York City, having to get up early to be a Production Assistant at a national television show. One year. The only thing the same is having to get up early. But that’s just life.

Leave a Reply

