The Art of the Eggplant

art

Growing up, I had the best car ever. A purple 1996 Dodge Caravan, the Eggplant was my noble steed from 2006 through 2012. Throughout that time, the ‘plant got a little bit decorated. Over the years, the roof was covered with signatures, drawings, newspaper clippings, and more.

Next to a horse.

Next to a horse.

During a typical New England winter

During a typical New England winter.

Like all cars, Suze, as the Eggplant was also know, got old and started to break down. We had to put her down in December 2012. But the Eggplant went out in style. Before she got scrapped for parts, I threw a party inside the car. About 10 or so people crammed into the Eggplant’s hallowed shell one last time. We even got pizza delivered to the car! It was a great time.

Before we parted ways, here are some pictures I snapped of the art of the Eggplant. And then it was goodbye. Thanks, old friend.

 

uptrek

From when we went to see “Up” and “Star Trek” at the drive-in movie theater.

libby

Some people signed the Eggplant that I don’t even know! I’ve never met Libby!

A little poetry.

A little poetry.

some with Star Wars...

Every minivan needs some with Star Wars.

From a trip to the strange land of Amherst

A relic from a trip to the strange land of Amherst.

joanheart

With love.

A terrific drawing of the 'plant, it purple to boot!

A terrific drawing of the ‘plant, it’s purple to boot!

big

What on earth is “parkin lot drinking?” Oh goodness, we used to joke around as youngsters…

Why yes, that is a rusty button from the McDonalds in my hometown.

Why yes, that is a rusty button from the McDonalds in my hometown.

beach

Suze loved the beach.

A cartoon character signed the Eggplant.

A cartoon character signed the Eggplant.

 

My family crest was pinned to the 'plant.

My family crest was pinned to the ‘plant.

I found this ticket in the car. I got it for driving while young.

I found this ticket in the car. I got it for driving while young.

This resided in the Eggplant. For luck.

This resided in the Eggplant. For luck.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

